Mark Diotte Leadership Award Nomination

Mark Diotte Leadership Award Nomination




The Ontario Association of Fire Chiefs (OAFC), along with Safetek Emergency Vehicles Ltd., is inviting people to submit nominations for the Mark Diotte Leadership Award.   Mark Diotte was the fire chief in the Town of Ajax and a Vice-President of the OAFC. He lost a very difficult and courageous battle with cancer on May 7, 2014.
Mark was an exceptional leader. He demonstrated that true leadership does not happen remotely or from behind a keyboard. Mark was renowned for his "come and see me" approach to leadership and for his remarkable ability to provide clarity. Mark was an inspiring and engaging leader who brought out the best in everyone. Whether you worked with him, or for him, the same results were always achieved – you were inspired and motivated to achieve uncommon results.
Mark was a man of conviction and he never wavered from his morals, values or his commitment to customer service. He believed that wearing the uniform was both an honour and a genuine responsibility.
His leadership was inspiring and he never backed down from a challenge or an issue. Willing to deliver the truth, no matter how hard it may have been to do so, Mark was respected for his passion, sense of humour and fierce loyalty.
A Mark Diotte Leadership Award nominee must be a current or former member of the OAFC and should exemplify one or more of the following list of attributes:

  • Demonstrates exceptional leadership and inspires those around them
  • Is committed to honesty and hard work and is evident in results
  • Exhibits that wearing the uniform is an honour and a genuine responsibility
  • Has made a difference in the Ontario fire service

Additional Factors and Criteria

  • Self-nominations are not permitted.
  • The award will not be given merely to recognize long-term membership on a committee or in an organization.

Previous Recipients of the Mark Diotte Leadership Award

Previous Recipients
Name Year
Tony Bavota 2022
Philip Dawson 2018
Jeremy Parkin 2017
Andy Glynn 2016
Chris Harrow 2015







You are encouraged to submit nominations, including supporting documentation. An accurate, persuasive and well-documented justification that provides examples of how the nominee meets one or more of the above attributes and criteria is an essential part of the nomination and selection processes. Each nomination will be considered on its own merits.
This award is based on the merit of received submissions; therefore, the award may not be given out each year. 
If you know someone who is deserving of this award, please complete the nomination form below and submit.

For any questions about this award, feel free to contact Katelyn Widdop at 905-426-9865 x1224 or by email to 

  • Current Nominee Information:
  • Nominator Information:
  • Nomination Details:
  • Complete