19 SUSPICIOUS FIRES BEING INVESTIGATED BY WATERLOO REGIONAL POLICE, WATERLOO FIRE DEPARTMENT, AND ONTARIO OFFICE OF THE FIRE MARSHAL
The Cord
 

An investigation involving the Waterloo Regional Police, Waterloo Fire Department and the Ontario Office of the Fire Marshal has been opened regarding 19 suspicious fires that have have been set in Waterloo over the past three months. 

According to the police, the fires are being investigated separately, but they are looking into whether or not they may be connected. 

There is a strong possibility is that “someone is intentionally setting the fires,” Waterloo Fire Chief Richard Hepditch said in an article published by The Record. 

The fires that are currently being investigated are as follows: 

1. Monday, Sept. 21 around 12:05 a.m.: Dumpster fire at Keats Way and Erbsville Road

2.  Monday, Sept. 21 around 7:40 p.m.: Camp fire in the woods at Northlake Drive and Conservation Drive

3. Wednesday, Sept. 23 around 8 p.m.: Brush fire at Columbia Street West and Fischer-Hallman Road

4. Tuesday, Sept. 29 around 6:30 p.m.: Small brush fire at Gatestone Boulevard and Barrington Place

5. Saturday, Oct. 3 around 3 a.m.: Dumpster fire at Erb Street West and Roosevelt Avenue

6. Saturday, Oct. 10 around 1 a.m.: House fire at Amos Avenue and Vogel Place.

7. Thursday, Oct. 15 around 1:50 a.m.: Mattress fire at Regina Street and William Street East

8. Tuesday, Oct. 20 around 9 a.m.: Garage fire at Columbia Street West and Spruce Street

9. Monday, Oct. 26 around 6:50 a.m.: Detached garage fire at Lester Street and Hickory Street West

10. Tuesday, Oct. 27 around 2:10 p.m.: Parked tractor-trailer fire in parking lot at Northfield Drive and Conestogo Parkway

11. Saturday, Oct. 31: Fire in a park at Royal Beech Drive and Erbsville Court

12. Wednesday, Nov. 4: Pile of leaves on fire at University Avenue West and Seagram Drive

13. Friday, Nov. 6 around 1:40 a.m.: Garbage bin fire at Columbia Street West

14. Saturday, Nov. 7 around 6:30 a.m.: Shopping cart on fire on Weber Street North

15. Sunday, Nov. 8 around 3:50 a.m.: Recycling bin on fire at Albert Street

16. Monday, Nov. 9 around 12:10 a.m.: Garbage bin on fire at King Street North and Columbia Street East

17. Monday, Nov. 9 around 12:25 a.m.: Pile of leaves on fire at Hazel Street

18. Monday, Nov. 9 : Trees on fire at Marsland Drive

The latest fire, bringing the current total to 19, happened in a recycling bin in the area of Fischer-Hallman Road and Weber Street around 3 a.m. on Nov. 10. 

Residents are being told to lock away any combustible materials, including trash and recycling, until they are due to be collected. 

People who see any suspicious activity are urged to report it to the police. 

Anyone who has information about the fires is also encouraged to contact Crime Stoppers at 1-800-222-8477.

<back to Headlines